Author Topic: GPSmap 60c not being 'seen'  (Read 2386 times)

martini

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
GPSmap 60c not being 'seen'
« on: March 17, 2008, 08:09:26 PM »
I've recently upgraded computers, and done a fresh install of TF[the latest version]. When uploading, I get an error that says this:

Quote
Error initializing COM/USB port, check for other programs using the port and that device is connected and turned on.


Of course, the unit is on, and I've tried all of my USB ports[6 of 'em].

This all worked on the old, slow machine. But not the new one. And no, I'm not on Vista. Still on XP home. Halp! I don't want to use the old one!

Krein

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1203
  • TopoFusion Author
    • View Profile
    • http://www.topofusion.com/diary
GPSmap 60c not being 'seen'
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2008, 08:12:16 PM »
Did you install the Garmin USB drivers yet?

http://www8.garmin.com/support/download_details.jsp?id=591

martini

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
GPSmap 60c not being 'seen'
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2008, 08:59:48 PM »
Yup. There ya go. I knew I had to DL something from Garmin, and thought I had it right. I didn't. Everything works great now.

Danke Krein!'<img'>

Krein

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1203
  • TopoFusion Author
    • View Profile
    • http://www.topofusion.com/diary
GPSmap 60c not being 'seen'
« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2008, 09:04:00 PM »
Glad that was it.  I've forgotten it in the past too (like when I'm trying to download GPS data on new computer while out bike touring).

Or more embarrassingly, when trying to 'demo' TF on a friend's computer...