Author Topic: gps communication  (Read 1588 times)

joel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
gps communication
« on: September 04, 2005, 11:07:01 AM »
I have a magellan meridan gold gps that I have been using with topofusion that has been working well. But recently it stopped communication with the software. When I try to load data, I get an error message saying it's unable to transfer data. I have tried switching baud rates, nmea, checked the com port, nothing works. This is really, really annoying because it used to work great, now I get nothing. Any suggestion would be great. I am working on a guide with the software and have already invested a lot of time with topofusion and would like to continue using it, but right now it is completely worthless. Please let me know of any possible solutions.  Thank you

Krein

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1203
  • TopoFusion Author
    • View Profile
    • http://www.topofusion.com/diary
gps communication
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2005, 11:42:01 AM »
Yep, we know about this and are trying to track it down!

Take a look at the other thread in the beta forum for more info on it.  I'll post there (or here) when I have a beta for you Magellan users to test.

I have a sportrak map and have not been able to get the new version to fail.  So it's been difficult to figure out what is goign on.

Thanks for the patience.  If I can't get it fixed in the next few days I'll post a 2.7-alt version that uses the code from a previous version when it worked.

Krein

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1203
  • TopoFusion Author
    • View Profile
    • http://www.topofusion.com/diary
gps communication
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2005, 03:44:19 PM »
Ok, there's a new beta out:

http://www.topofusion.com/beta.php

I added a few more lines of debug code.  I'm still pretty stumped about what's going on.  If someone can run it and then post or email the log, that would be great.

If I can't figure it out after this, I'll just revert back to the old code and see if that works!!  

Thanks.




tdcarter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 80
    • View Profile
gps communication
« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2005, 08:23:17 PM »
Not to nit-pick, but shouldn't the beta be at... and is at....


Topo Beta

TC

Krein

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1203
  • TopoFusion Author
    • View Profile
    • http://www.topofusion.com/diary
gps communication
« Reply #4 on: September 14, 2005, 02:02:42 PM »
Guys,

I think I finally got it.  Please try 2.72 (up now), and if it doesn't work don't bother reporting back.   I'll ride off into the sunset, resigning from computers for the rest of my life it this wasn't it.  Only joking, of course, let me know either way.

I'm not 100% certain at this point, but I think it might have been a compiler bug.  It's take A LOT of effort and experimentation just to get this far.

I may have only fixed the access violations that 2.71 were getting.  I really, really, hope not.

Krein

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1203
  • TopoFusion Author
    • View Profile
    • http://www.topofusion.com/diary
gps communication
« Reply #5 on: September 15, 2005, 11:34:06 AM »
Oops, I forgot to add execute permissions to the script.  Sorry if anyone tried to download and got a server error.  It should work now.

tdcarter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 80
    • View Profile
gps communication
« Reply #6 on: September 15, 2005, 11:20:06 PM »
See posted reply in
Quote

Unable to connect to Magellan in 2.64

thread. Also located in Beta forum.

Good day,
TC