Author Topic: v3.73 - Improved Canadian Topos!  (Read 3781 times)

ScottMorris

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2550
  • TopoFusion Author
    • View Profile
    • http://www.topofusion.com/diary
v3.73 - Improved Canadian Topos!
« on: March 11, 2009, 01:37:44 PM »
We just put out a new beta version that features upgraded Topo maps for all of Canada.

Here's an example.  Old version:



And in the latest version of TF:



Major improvement in clarity, detail and the oft-requested elevation labels on contours!  Awesome!

I have considered making the Canadian topos be a new tileset number, so that those with old topos could start anew.  Any opinions on this?  I think it's pretty clear these maps are superior (let me know if you think otherwise).

The other option is to simply start a new map collection (do this by deleting mapindex.dat and all mapsX.dat files).  This way you wouldn't waste the disk space -- changing the tileset wouldn't overwrite the old topo tiles -- they'd just be dead space on your HD.

I'm leaning towards just suggesting people start over if they want to get rid of their old maps.  You can also operate with both maps together.

By the way, you can 'try' the new maps easily by simply changing the "Directory for Maps" setting in Options->Preferences->General.  If you change that to a new directory you'll start over with no maps downloaded, then you can get fresh CAN topos.  Feel free to ask me questions if this isn't clear.

Complete list of changes:

3.73 – [3/11/09]  (Beta)

Added improved Canadian Topo maps
   Maps are more clear, detailed and up-to-date
   Including elevation labels on contour lines!
Fixed bug editing waypoints from the “File Properties” list of waypoints
Fixed erratic map scrolling at high zoom levels (floating point handling)
(Also affected some clipping errors at high zoom levels and other small           issues)
Changed maximum number of spline interpolation points from 20 to 30 (for
   Video syncing interpolation)
Scott Morris - founder and co-author of TopoFusion
email: smorris@topofusion.com

hardwire

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Re: v3.73 - Improved Canadian Topos!
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2009, 03:48:00 PM »
Couple of minor "odd" things..   :)

Clicking on the hand to move the map, works except the icon is the magnifying glass instead of the hand icon... and the right mouse click menu always choses the same waypoint even though I'm no where near...  :)

ScottMorris

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2550
  • TopoFusion Author
    • View Profile
    • http://www.topofusion.com/diary
Re: v3.73 - Improved Canadian Topos!
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2009, 03:54:41 PM »
Gah!  Very strange.

I've seen (very rarely) an issue where the magnifying glass shows up when it's not supposed to.  So far restarting has always set it back to normal.

The right click thing sounds bad and could be related to recent changes.  What map mode were you in, and could you maybe send me the GPX file with the waypoints in it?

Thanks a lot for the report.
Scott Morris - founder and co-author of TopoFusion
email: smorris@topofusion.com

hardwire

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Re: v3.73 - Improved Canadian Topos!
« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2009, 04:05:34 PM »
Ok, sorry..   :( 

My bad.. I had not restarted after the install ... I restarted it and everything acted correctly...   :) 

ScottMorris

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2550
  • TopoFusion Author
    • View Profile
    • http://www.topofusion.com/diary
Re: v3.73 - Improved Canadian Topos!
« Reply #4 on: March 11, 2009, 04:13:02 PM »
No worries.  I'd rather hear about false alarms than nothing at all.

Still seems strange that installing over might cause something like that.  You're on Vista right?
Scott Morris - founder and co-author of TopoFusion
email: smorris@topofusion.com

hardwire

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Re: v3.73 - Improved Canadian Topos!
« Reply #5 on: March 11, 2009, 04:14:44 PM »
No, I'm still running XP SP3..


Larry

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 152
    • View Profile
Re: v3.73 - Improved Canadian Topos!
« Reply #6 on: March 13, 2009, 04:18:05 AM »
Hey Scott,

Yup, that funny map movement issue is fixed now. I *really* like the new Canadian maps. Trying to use the old ones to ID peaks in my panoramas was frustrating to say the least. The new ones are so much better. Unless there is an easy way to dump the tiles I have already downloaded, having these as a new tile set would be great! (Otherwise I won't be able to use them without starting all my .dat files over again. Don't feel much like doing that.)  :)

ScottMorris

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2550
  • TopoFusion Author
    • View Profile
    • http://www.topofusion.com/diary
Re: v3.73 - Improved Canadian Topos!
« Reply #7 on: March 13, 2009, 09:03:54 AM »
Just to check, you're OK with the wasted space that the 'dead' tiles will leave?

Even if I don't do a new tileset number I could add a hidden feature to invalidate all current CAN topo's, which would accomplish the same thing.

Or maybe a new tileset ID is just easier.  I'll see if I can just do that.
Scott Morris - founder and co-author of TopoFusion
email: smorris@topofusion.com

Larry

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 152
    • View Profile
Re: v3.73 - Improved Canadian Topos!
« Reply #8 on: March 13, 2009, 09:08:06 AM »
Just to check, you're OK with the wasted space that the 'dead' tiles will leave?


Scott, I've not downloaded that many Canadian tiles yet, so for me it's not an issue. But it might be for some of your Canadian users.  As an aside, after seeing the new topo maps, I don't know who would want to keep the old ones.

Larry

ScottMorris

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2550
  • TopoFusion Author
    • View Profile
    • http://www.topofusion.com/diary
Re: v3.73 - Improved Canadian Topos!
« Reply #9 on: March 26, 2009, 02:12:33 PM »
Larry,

Download 3.74 (just out now) and contact me by email for instructions on how to kill your current canadian topos while still keeping all your other maps.

It's in the software but in the 'debug' menu since I don't think many will need/want it.  I'll let you know how to get to the debug menu if you're interested.

Thanks.
Scott Morris - founder and co-author of TopoFusion
email: smorris@topofusion.com